Kiyoharu Art Colony

With views of the Southern Alps at the west side, Yatsugatake Mountain range at the north side and Mt. Fuji at the south side, this area was once called Kiyoharu – Pure Spring.

The Kiyoharu Art Colony has revived the name of this place, which is no longer marked on maps, as a place for artists to create and interact.

With architecture by renowned architects such as Gustave Eiffel, Yoshio Taniguchi, Tadao Ando and Terunobu Fujimori, as well as century-old cherry blossom trees in spring, wisteria in early summer, fresh greenery in summer, autumn leaves in autumn and famous white peaks in winter, Kiyoharu Art Colony has more to offer than just its art collection.

We believe and hope that your contact with art in the changing nature of Kiyoharu will not only be an appreciation of art, but also a special experience that will surely be recorded in your heart!

By all staff of Kiyoharu Art Colony

About Kiyoharu Art Colony


Chòzò Yoshiì, founder of the Kiyoharu Art Colony, visits Kiyoharu in the cherry blossom season with Hideo Kobayashi, Izumi Today, Masako Shirasu, Yoshiro Taniguchi, Hidesaburo Shòda, Kaii Higashiyama and his wife.


  • La Ruche Completed: Construction of La Ruche, a Gustave Eiffel-designed residential atelier complex, as a training ground for artists.
  • Kiyoharu Ceramics Studio Completed: The structure is a five-strand climbing kiln. The kilns are usually fired in spring and autumn.


  • Opening of the Kiyoharu Shirakaba Art Museum: A visionary museum dreamt of by the Shirakaba School writers, including Mushanokoji Saneatsu and Shiga Naoya, was realised by Chòzò Yoshiì, a great admirer and friend of both, designed by Yoshio Taniguchi.
  • ‘Thumb’ by César: ‘Thumb’ by Cesar was installed in the Kiyoharu Art Colony.


  • Inauguration of the Rouault Chapel: The Chapel built to commemorate Julges Rouault, the greatest religious painter of the 20th Century, designed by Yoshio Taniguchi.
  • Opening of the Organic restaurant La Palette: the restaurant in the Art Colony with a permanent exhibition of palettes used by prominent national and international painters, designed by Yoshio Taniguchi Architects.


  • Relocation the Eiffel Tower staircase: Some part of the Eiffel Tower was relocated from France to Japan – Kiyoharu Art Colony in 1989, the centenary of the completion of the Eiffel Tower in 1889.
  • Reconstruction of the Ryuzaburo Umehara’s studio: Relocated the studio of Japanese painter Ryuzaburo Umehara, originally which designed by Isoya Yoshida Architects.


Opening of the Shirakaba Library: The bock collection includes reprints of the Shirakaba magazine, as well as literature and art books by writers associated with the Shirakaba school, the library director is Tanikawa Shuntaro.


Opening the Teahouse ‘Tetsu’: Created in practice a tearoom on a single 80-year-old cypress tree leg. It is 4 meters above ground level and the interior is 1,7 *tsubo. Designed by architectural historian Terunobu Fujimori. (*1 tsubo = 3,30 m2 circa)


Opening of the Museum of Light: The museum where artworks can be viewed solely in natural light, which changes with the seasons and over time. Designed by Tadaò Ando.


Opening hours
10:00-17:00 (Last admission at 16:30)

Closed: Mondays (or the following day if Monday is a national holiday), New Year Holidays
Close on New Year holidays.

Kiyoharu Art Colony Admission Tickets
(Includes admission fee for Kiyoharushirakaba Museum and Museum of the Light)
*Special group rates ( ) for groups of more than 20 people.
Adults : 1,500yen (1,400yen)
High School & College Students : 1,000 yen (900yen)
Elementary & Middle School Students : Free

Phone number


By Train
From Tokyo : Take JR Line from Shinjuku station for 2 hours to Nagasaka Station.
5 minutes by taxi / 10 minutes by bus / 30 minutes on foot from Nagasaka Station.
From Nagoya : Take JR Line from Nagoya station for 3 hours and 40 minutes to Kobuchizawa Station.
10 minutes by taxi / 30 minutes by bus from Kobuchizawa station.

By Car
Takes 15 minutes from Nagasaka I.C. (About 2 hours from Tokyo).

By Bus
From the JR Nagasaka Station
Take the Hokuto City Bus (West Line, Car 3)  bound for Hinoharu station – get off at the Southside of Nakamaru Public Hall (Nakamaru Kominkan Minami) – 3 minute walk to the Kiyoharu Art Colony.

Bus departure times
From the JR Nagasaka Station to the Southside of Nakamaru Public Hall
| Departure Time ①10:05 / ②11:10 / ③15:02
From the Southside of Nakamaru Public Hall to the JR Nagasaka Station
| Departure Time ①13:21 / ②14:46 / ③16:56(Weekdays Only)

Kiyoharu Art Colony Membership

The Kiyoharu Art Colony offers a membership program to enhance your enjoyment of the Kiyoharu Art Colony. The program aims not only to enjoy the Art Colony, but also to promote interaction among art, architecture and nature lovers, and to support the activities of artists, Kiyoharu Art Colony and the local community, thereby enhancing the art world. The members could enjoy a range of benefits as follow:

Supporter membership

20,000 yen/year

  • Free admission to the Shirakaba Museum and the Museum of Light (max 4 people)
  • Right to use the La Ruche
  • Use of the Shirakaba Library
  • Entry to the ‘Teahouse Tetsu’ designed by Terunobu Fujimori (max twice a year)
  • Entry to Ryuzaburo Umehara’s Atelier, designed by Isoya Yoshida
  • Invitation to opening party at the Kiyoharu Shirakaba Museum and Museum of Light Exhibition
  • Visiting the guest house ‘Washin’ designed by New Materials Research Laboratory / Hiroshi Sugimoto + Michiyuki Sakakida

Corporate member

JPY 500,000 (1 unit and more/year)

  • Free admission to the Shirakaba Museum and Museum of Light (including accompanying persons)
  • Use rights at La Ruche
  • Use rights the Shirakaba Library
  • Entry to the ‘Teahouse Tetsu‘ designed by Terunobu Fujimori (max 10 times/year)
  • Entry to Ryuzaburo Umehara’s Atelier, designed by Isoya Yoshida
  • Invitation to the Kiyoharu Shirakaba Museum of Art and Light exhibition opening party
  • Display the Corporation name & logo in the Kiyoharu Art Colony
  • Free visit at the guesthouse ‘Washin’ by New Materials Research Institute / Hiroshi Sugimoto + Michiyuki Sakakida design